DRC,

These babies are only 5 weeks old! Can they even be separated from their mother that soon?!? Found on Tulsa Craigslist.

Views: 1854

Attachments:

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

No, it's against the law in Oklahoma (and 25 other states) to sell a puppy before the age of 8 weeks. https://www.animallaw.info/topic/table-state-laws-concerning-minimu... However, I'm not sure about giving them away. 

At any rate, I would flag the CL ad. You can also try messaging the owner, but that can sometimes provoke a hostile response. 

5 weeks is way too young for any dog to leave its mother and litter. Puppies don't even develop bite inhibition until between 6-8 weeks. 

Karen,

I reached out by email to this person and she is in fact selling these dogs at 5 weeks of age. Apparently her ad is misleading with the casual use of the phrase "get rid of" ...But she doesn't live in Oklahoma. She lives in Fayetteville, AR and according to the link you gave me there are no laws about selling under age dogs there. I am disgusted by the greed and blatant ignorance of some people. Anyway, thank you for getting back to me!

It's heartbreaking, but unfortunately, all too common, especially in rural areas. 

RSS

© 2021   Created by Jacquie Yorke - DRC Director.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service